Planning Commision

The Shippensburg planning commission is responsible for reviewing and recommending to Borough Council to approve or not approve submitted subdivisions and land development plans per the Borough€™s Subdivision and Land Development Ordinance (SALDO) and the Pennsylvania Municipal Planning Code.


Before being placed on the Planning Commission Agenda, an applicant must complete an application and provide all required documentation necessary for review. This documentation includes: site plans, storm water management plan, storm water calculations, county conservation district comments, county planning commission comments, zoning variance approvals.


Completed applications for planning commission agenda should be submitted not later than the second Wednesday of the month for the following month€™s commission meeting.


Planning Commission meetings are held at 7:00 pm the second Wednesday of each month in the Borough Council meeting room located at 111 N. Fayette Street.


Planning Commission members are:

Art Berman – Chair
Frank Cressler – Vice Chair
Beth Minnich
Bill Lape
Joshua Diehl

Donna Sommerville, Secretary

Planning Commission members are volunteers appointed by Borough Council for five year terms.